view all PLASP BLOG posts

Leadership, team spirit and continuous learning honoured at annual PLASP staff recognition event


Kathleen M. Stroud Award

Kathleen M. Stroud Award Winner Eva Klimsa

This year’s Kathleen M. Stroud Award Winner is Eva Klimsa.

This award was established to acknowledge the contributions of Kathleen Stroud, who assisted PLASP in becoming a licensed child care provider. She held many positions working with children, culminating as a program advisor with the Ministry of Children and Youth Services.

Eva stated with PLASP in May 2001 as an On the Job Trainee, which is now known as a Program Staff in Training at Plum Tree Park P.S. That fall, she became a Program Supervisor in the before and after school program at Plum Tree Park. In September 2003, she was promoted to the Assistant Director. She worked at Plum Tree Park for six and a half years before moving to St. Albert of Jerusalem C.S. in January 2009, becoming the Program Director. Eva worked at St. Albert of Jerusalem until June 2010 and left PLASP for a short time. She came back in 2012 as a Relief Program Director and then one year later has become a Relief Resource Program Director where she continues today.

Staff who worked with Eva had high praise for her leadership and enthusiasm for PLASP.  On her nomination submission staff had the following to say about her:

  • "She (Eva) is the model employee in terms of professionalism and team support."
  • "She is always eager to help everyone from training a new staff to helping an old staff with new training."
  • "Overall, she is a genuine person who is capable of making the right decisions at the right time and runs a PLASP program with high standards."

Eva’s enthusiastic and engaging personality has enabled her to build strong relationships with her co-workers, the children in the program and parents, as well as school staff.  She is incredibly creative and shares her skills and knowledge with others willingly and is committed to continuous improvements for PLASP. 


Sylvia Leal Memorial Award

Sylvia Leal Memorial Award winner Helene Haffizulla

This year's Sylvia Leal Memorial Award winner is Helene Haffizulla.

This award is a tribute to Sylvia Leal's life and her legacy as the founding CEO of PLASP, and our executive leader for 33 years. We continue to reflect on the impact Sylvia had on all those who knew her and how that influence rippled out into the broader early years’ community.

The Sylvia Leal Memorial Award is focused on professional learning and growth. This award is open to all staff who have been with PLASP for three or more years. The total value of the award is $2,000 for the individual to use over two years towards professional learning.


To ensure no comment gets left unread, your comments are moderated and won't appear until approved. Comments relating to your child’s registration in a PLASP program including but not limited to program requests, cancellations and additions can not be addressed through the PLASP blog and will not appear. If you require assistance registering or making changes to your child’s program, please call Parent Services at 1.888.739.4102 between 7 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday to Friday.

PLASP Child Care Services

Comments (1)


Sincere congratulations to Eva Klimsa and Helene Haffizulla!

Posted by: Muniram |
Add your comment
Search For Care
Search By
6 weeks to 5 years

Grades 1 to 6

Raising the Bar
Winner of the 2019 Readers' Choice Awards
94% Parent Level of Satisfaction for 2017/2018
2016 Business Excellence Award for Mentoring